Congressional -
            Executive Commission on China
  Home     Search     Printer Friendly Subscribe/Unsubscribe to
Commission Email & Newsletter
VA Home
Useful Links
Human Rights
US Government
International NGO
US-Sino Organizations
Minority Nationalities
Law Reform
Media Studies
Legal Resources

Human Rights and Rule of Law - News and Analysis

Enter single word or exact phrase
to search news and headlines
  Dated between  and
(Format: yyyy-mm-dd)

Senator Brown Appointed Chair, Representative Smith Appointed Cochair of Congressional-Executive Commission on China

Congressional-Executive Commission on China

March 18, 2013

(Washington, DC)—U.S. Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid has appointed Senator Sherrod Brown (D-OH) chair of the bipartisan Congressional-Executive Commission on China. U.S. House Speaker John Boehner has appointed Representative Chris Smith (R-NJ) co-chair.

"I look forward to working with my fellow Commissioners on the important task of this Commission, which is to make sure we are fully informed about human rights and rule of law developments in China. Promotion of human rights and the development of the rule of law are in the best interests of both countries, and are closely linked to our health and economic security," Brown said. "We must ensure China plays by the rules so that our workers can compete on a level playing field, our foods and products are safe, and universal human rights are respected."

"One of the most crucial factors determining whether the 21st century will be peaceful will be China's internal development¡ªwhether China recognizes its citizens' human rights and their desire to live in a democratic state ruled by law, or persists in non-representative government and repression," Smith said. "I remain deeply concerned that the Chinese government continues to promote forced abortions and to deny its citizens the universal freedoms of speech, religion, and assembly."

Congress created the Commission in 2000 to monitor China's compliance with international human rights standards, to encourage the development of the rule of law in the PRC, and to establish and maintain a list of victims of human rights abuses in China. The Commission submits an annual report to the President and Congress every October on these subjects. The Commission recently released a Chinese translation of the executive summary from the 2012 Annual Report, which is available here.

The Commission comprises nine Senators, nine Members of the House of Representatives, and five senior Administration officials. The Senate Majority Leader, in consultation with the Senate Minority Leader, names the Senate's commissioners. Likewise, the Speaker of the House, in consultation with the House Minority Leader, chooses the House Members of the Commission. The President appoints the five Executive Branch commissioners.


Source: -See Summary (2013-03-18 ) | Posted on: 2013-03-18  
 Link directly to this item with:

   Back to Top   Back To Top

  Previous Page  Previous Page
  Site Map   |  Contact Us  

The page was last modified on March 14, 2011
© 2002-2005 Congressional-Executive Commission on China - All Rights Reserved.